Sleep tight, don’t let the bed bugs bite!

I recently traveled and needed to stay in a hotel, as most of us do from time to time.  I make it a habit to check around the bed, mattress, box spring, head board, etc for signs of bed bugs.  Signs include, the bugs themselves, nymphs (baby bed bugs) and fecal spots (bed bug poop) which is easily spotted since it is digested blood and it stains.  See the pictures below for visible evidence of all of the above!

Bed bugs 2

I notified the front desk and they were very apologetic, of course.  They don’t want you making a big fuss, telling people or placing a law suit which now happens often.  The funny thing or not so funny thing about that night is that when I told them, they immediately offered a new room…I inspected the new room and guess what?  I found more evidence!

Bed bugs

Now most people would just run out of there.  But, I am somewhat of a bed bug “expert” so I know this is not uncommon anymore.  I accepted the third room of the night.  I completed another inspection and found the room to be clean.  Just in case, I placed my belongings in the bathtub for safe keeping, bagged my clothes I was wearing, and settled in for a good night’s rest.

I was a bit paranoid itchy at first, but it all worked out.  And in the end, they didn’t charge me for the room and said they hoped that was the end of it. (Code for “are you going to sue us?”)  I assured them that it was. (Code for, “as long as I don’t find any when I get home.”)

Bottom line is this…it doesn’t matter how nice the hotel is or isn’t.  Bed bugs feed on us, not filth.  They are hitch hikers and cannot be stopped.  Always check your mattress before bedding down in ANY hotel.  Enjoy your stay and, oh yea, sleep tight, don’t let the bed bugs bite!

8 thoughts on “Sleep tight, don’t let the bed bugs bite!

Leave a Reply

