My Finch Post

Another amazing act of nature.  I was working in the yard and noticed a small bird coming out of a fence post.  The fence is designed for the rail to go into the post but it is old and not joined together.

fence postThe birds, finches I think, entered the opening and created a nest in the hole.

finch nest

The interesting part is that the hole used to gone straight, but something bored down into the post creating a pocket in which they created the nest.  Not sure how that happened.

nest in post

Finches are small, but baby finches are tiny!  It makes you want to just pick them up and hold them.  But, of course, that would not be good for the baby birds so I just look.

Baby finch in post

They do squeak and open their beaks when they are hungry.  They will only be here a short time.  I hope they enjoyed their stay!

singing finches

14 thoughts on “My Finch Post

  1. Oh, these are so awesome! My wife is watching over my shoulder and crooning. We have a Wren nest in our hanging plant. We’re looking forward to when they hatch. Thanks for posting these. Great pics!

  2. Now I know why you like my blog, very familiar and yes, they will be gon before you know it. I love how you got a close-up I was a fraid to do that since Momma was always close by

  3. Very cool when nature decides to become your roommate, isn’t it? Unless it’s a family of skunks, and even then, they’d be cool – from a distance. Awesome photos, and you’ll get to watch the family grow up – I hope you’ll share that with us.

    • This year I’ve had a robin’s nest, the finch nest, a rabbit’s nest and watched the babies grow and leave. One bunny is still around. There is a skunk nearby but not too close! Thanks!

  4. Who needs a satellite dish or cable, when all this is going on …right in your own backyard – we’ve had a male house wren building nests all over our backyard – I guess the female decides which one she’ll use by finishing off with the soft stuff for bedding…nature’s so interesting. Thanks for sharing your pics and checking out my blog!

Leave a Reply

