Deprivation and appreciation

Have you ever deprived yourself of something and then when you got it, it was so much better than you were expecting?  Do you ever notice how much better food tastes when your really hungry?  Hiking can do this to a person, but it also happens in regular life.

I was trying out some new hiking equipment.  I wanted to set up my new tent in the woods behind my house at 9:30 at night and sleep out there.  Of course, my wife just giggled.  It was dark and about 45 degrees F.  I had a sleeping bag that was not rated for cold.  My son and I set out in the dark to see if we could set up the tent using just a headlamp.  That was fine, but the ground was hard and cold.  My sleeping bag was a piece of garbage.  It went down to 35 degrees F and my feet were cold.  Of course my nose was cold too.

The point is, we were successful at setting up the tent and made it through the night, but when the sun came up, I went back to the house and got into my warm, soft bed.  It was heaven!  It’s hard to describe how good, how comfortable and warm that bed felt.

Here’s the challenge.  Try to deprive yourself of something.  Then, when you give in, you will appreciate it so much more.  The simple things in life can be appreciated so much more if we manage our lives differently.  Let me know if you have experienced this or if you give it a try and what happens.  Thanks!

Leave a Reply

